Johann Erdmann Hummel, The granite bowl in the Berlin Lustgarten, 1831, oil on canvas, 65,5 x 87,5 cm, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie. Photo by Jörg P. Anders

Johann Erdmann Hummel’s artistic work was unique in its time. Sober objectivity on the one hand and a joy of detail going into the transcendent on the other hand distinguish his work. No other contemporary artist had refined reflections, spatial nesting and magical lighting such an interest as Hummel. 

The master’s artfully constructed compositions, which sometimes appear enigmatic and over-realistic, impress with their graphic clarity and finely felt colorism. In their exaggerated representation of the visible, they point ahead to modernism, such as the New Objectivity. In 1800, the Kassel-born artist (1769-1852) came to Berlin. There, in 1809, he received a professorship in perspective, optics and architecture at the Berlin Academy of Arts. His teaching, research and publications on the laws of visual perception were nationally and internationally trend-setting. 

Hummel created an extensive and highly diverse painterly work. Portraits are found in it as well as figure scenes in interior and exterior spaces, landscapes and nature studies. Hugo von Tschudi acquired three major works by Hummel for the National Gallery beginning in 1904: The Game of Chess, The Grinding of the Granite Bowl, and The Granite Bowl in the Berlin Pleasure Garden. In 1906 Tschudi presented the hitherto forgotten painter at the National Gallery’s legendary Century Exhibition. The real rediscovery, however, was to take place there in the 1920s. When the New Objectivity with its return to the world of the visible established itself as a leading art movement, Ludwig Justi honored the artist in 1924 at the National Gallery with a “memorial exhibition”.

Around a century after the rediscovery of Hummel by Justi, the Alte Nationalgalerie, starting from its own holdings, dedicates a long overdue exhibition to the artist who, despite his importance, has been little recognized and hardly published until today. About 45 paintings and 50 drawings by Hummel are shown, as well as some selected works of the New Objectivity..

Plan your visit

EXHIBITION VENUE

Alte Nationalgalerie
Staatliche Museen zu Berlin
Museumsinsel Berlin
Bodestraße 1-3
10178 Berlin

RUN TIME

22. October 2021 – 20. February 2022

www.smb.museum/ang

ENTRY

Regular: 12 Euro
Reduced: 6 Euro

Entry including permanent collection

PUBLIC TRANSPORT

U-Bahn U5 (Museumsinsel)
U6 (Friedrichstraße)

S-Bahn S1, S2, S25, S 26 (Friedrichstraße);
S3, S5, S7, S9 (Hackescher Markt)
Tram M1, 12 (Am Kupfergraben);
Bus M4, M5, M6 (Hackeschen Markt)
Bus TX (Staatsoper); 100, 200 (Lustgarten)
147 (Friedrichstraße)

OPENING HOURS

Mondays
closed
Tuesday
10 – 6 pm
Wednesday
10 – 6 pm
Thursday
10 – 6 pm
Friday
10 – 6 pm
Saturday
10 – 6 pm
Sunday
10 – 6 pm

SPECIAL OPENING HOURS ON HOLIDAYS
Christmas Eve (Fri. 24.12.) closed
Christmas Day (Sat. 25.12.) 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.
2nd Christmas Day (Sun. 26.12.) 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.
New Year’s Eve (Fri 31.12.2021): closed
New Year (Sat 01.01.2022): 12 – 6 pm

Johann Erdmann Hummel, In the park of Buch castle, 1836, oil on canvas, 44 x 55,5 cm, Nationalgalerie / Staatliche Museen zu Berlin.

Education and Outreach

Guided Tours

Bookable guided tours for groups.

Visit the special exhibition with your close family or friends. An art mediator will accompany you on your individual tour. In a personal conversation, you will learn details about the exhibited works, the exhibition concept, and the historical background. The offer can be booked individually. Secure your desired date!

 

Duration: 60 minutes.

German: 90 € plus admission.

English: 100 € plus admission.

Other foreign languages are possible on request.

Max. 10 persons.

Required: negative test result, complete vaccination or recovery.

Information and booking:

service@smb.museum

Tel 030 266 42 42

Public guided tours for individual visitors.

Optics – Perspective – Construction

Sa / 2 pm

The work of the painter Johann Erdmann Hummel is characterized by an interest in optical phenomena such as reflections and shadows, as well as perspective and construction. In the exhibition talk you will learn details about the exhibited works of the painter, who despite his importance until today is little perceived..

Participation fee including admission: 15 €.

Participation fee with valid admission ticket (annual pass, support association, ICOM etc.): 10 €.

Limited number of participants.

Online booking required: www.smb.museum/veranstaltungen

Meeting point: box office / information.

Required: negative test result, full vaccination or recovery.

Special events and workshops

Curator’s tour.

The Special Look: Magical Reflections – Johann Erdmann Hummel

Fri / 4 pm / 11/19, 12/17/2021, 1/21/2022

For the first time since 1924, the Alte Nationalgalerie is dedicating an extensive exhibition to the painter Johann Erdmann Hummel. Josephine Hein and Birgit Verwiebe report on the exhibition from a curatorial perspective. Ask your questions and come into the conversation.

Participation fee including admission: 15 €.

Participation fee with valid admission ticket (annual pass, sponsoring association, ICOM etc.): 10 €.

Limited number of participants.

Online booking required: www.smb.museum/veranstaltungen

Meeting point: box office / information.

Required: negative test result, full vaccination or recovery.

 

One to one.

Sun / 2 – 4 p.m. / Oct. 24, Oct. 31, Nov. 7, Nov. 14, Nov. 21, Nov. 28, Dec. 5, Dec. 19, Dec. 26, 2021

Art mediators* invite you to extraordinary dialogues in the special exhibition “Magische Spiegelungen – Johann Erdmann Hummel” in the Alte Nationalgalerie. The applicable distance regulation becomes a format here. Be on the lookout! You will find your contact person*s in the exhibition rooms.

Participation fee: Free with admission ticket.

Limited number of participants.

Please book an online admission ticket for the time of the event.

Corona protective measures

Corona protection measures.

The 2G regulation is in effect for visits to Staatliche Museen zu Berlin venues from Monday, 15 November. This means that visitors will only be allowed to enter the museums upon presentation of a digitally readable vaccination or recovery certificate. Please show your digitally readable certificate together with a valid photo ID at the entrance control on site.

The 2G regulation does not apply to individuals under 18 years of age, who may also present an officially recognised negative coronavirus test result applicable for the time of the visit. This exception also applies to persons who cannot be vaccinated for medical reasons. These individuals must present an officially recognised negative test result applicable for the time of the visit as well a medical certificate stating the contraindication for the coronavirus vaccination. Instead of a negative test result, school children from Berlin and Brandenburg need only present their student ID.

Visitors aged 6 years and over are required to wear a medical mask or FFP2 face mask in all indoor areas of the museums and to maintain a distance of 1.5 meters from other people.

The latest information at: www.smb.museum/informationen-corona.

Online tickets and time slot tickets.

Visiting the museums is only possible with a time slot ticket, which should be booked online in advance if possible: www.smb.museum/tickets

Remaining tickets can also be purchased on site at the ticket offices.

Tickets will be released for advance sale for 14 days at a time.

Children and adolescents up to 18 years, accompanying persons of severely disabled people, holders of annual passes, press, ICOM or DMB passes, as well as members of Friends or Supporting Associations of the National Museums in Berlin are asked to book a free time slot online and to show the corresponding ID at the entrance without being asked..

Further Information

Information and booking.

State Museums of Berlin.

Education, outreach, visitor services.

Tel.: +49 30 266 42 42 (Mon. – Fri. 9 a.m. – 4 p.m.

E-mail: service@smb.museum

Education and outreach at the National Museums in Berlin.

The Education, Outreach, and Visitor Services Department is the central educational institution of the National Museums in Berlin and as such is entrusted with the conception and implementation of offerings in all 15 collections. With a diverse range of events, the National Museums in Berlin address different user groups: Children and families, young people and adults, day care centers, schools, universities and other educational institutions, individual visitors and visitor groups.

You can currently find the entire education and outreach program of the National Museums in Berlin at: www.smb.museum.

INFORMATION AND BOOKING

Staatliche Museen zu Berlin
Education, Outreach and Visitor Services
Tel +49 (0) 30 266 42 42 42 (Mo-Fr, 9-16 Uhr)
service@smb.museum
www.smb.museum

Find more information about our museum programming via www.smb.museum

Catalogue

Johann Erdmann Hummel’s work was unique in its time. No other artist had devoted such an interest to refined reflections, perspective constructions and magical illuminations as he did. The master’s elaborate compositions, rich in detail, impress with their clarity of drawing. In their exaggerated depiction of the visible, they point ahead to modernism, such as New Objectivity. This exhibition catalog makes an important contribution to the rediscovery of the painter, draftsman, and explorer of optical phenomena (1769-1852). The included catalog raisonné of his paintings provides a basis for future research.

Magische Spiegelungen. Johann Erdmann Hummel .
Publisher: Birgit Verwiebe; National Gallery of the National Museums in Berlin.
352 pages, 288 mostly color illustrations, 29.5 x 25 cm, hardcover
Hardcover.

Price of the museum edition: 29 euros.

Order hereOrder here

Alte Nationalgalerie

The Alte Nationalgalerie is the parent building of the National Gallery, whose collection today is also distributed among the houses Neue Nationalgalerie, Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum for Contemporary Art – Berlin, Friedrichswerder Church, Museum Berggruen and the Scharf-Gerstenberg Collection. Its conception goes back to Friedrich Wilhelm IV.  It was ceremoniously opened on March 22, 1876, the birthday of Emperor Wilhelm I, as the third museum on the Spree Island.

Mehr InformationenMehr Informationen

Partner

The exhibition Magische Spiegelungen. Johann Erdmann Hummel at the National Gallery is made possible by the Freunde der Nationalgalerie and supported by the Ernst von Siemens Art Foundation.

Mehr InformationenMehr Informationen

Johann Erdmann Hummel, Landscape with rainbow, 1841, oil on canvas, 72,5 x 80,4 cm, Angermuseum Erfurt. Foto: Dirk Urban.

Johann Erdmann Hummel, Die Granitschale im Berliner Lustgarten, 1831, Öl auf Leinwand, 65,5 x 87,5 cm, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie. Foto: Jörg P. Anders

Johann Erdmann Hummels künstlerisches Schaffen war in seiner Zeit einzigartig. Nüchterne Sachlichkeit einerseits und eine bis ins Transzendente gehende Detailfreudigkeit andererseits zeichnen sein Werk aus. Kein anderer Zeitgenössischer Künstler hatte raffinierten Spiegelungen, räumlichen Verschachtelungen und magischen Beleuchtungen ein solches Interesse entgegengebracht wie Hummel. 

Die kunstvoll konstruierten, mitunter rätselhaft und überrealistisch erscheinenden Kompositionen des Meisters beeindrucken durch ihre zeichnerische Klarheit und einen fein empfundenen Kolorismus. In ihrer übersteigerten Darstellung des Sichtbaren weisen sie auf die Moderne voraus, etwa die Neue Sachlichkeit. 1800 kam der in Kassel geborene Künstler (1769–1852) nach Berlin. Dort erhielt er 1809 eine Professur für Perspektive, Optik und Architektur an der Berliner Akademie der Künste. Seine Lehrtätigkeit, seine Forschungen und Publikationen zu den Gesetzen der visuellen Wahrnehmung waren national und international richtungsweisend. 

Hummel schuf ein umfangreiches und höchst viel seitiges malerisches Werk. Bildnisse sind darin ebenso anzutreffen wie Figurenszenen in Innen- und Außenräumen, Landschaften und Naturstudien. Hugo von Tschudi erwarb für die Nationalgalerie ab 1904 drei Hauptwerke Hummels: Die Schachpartie, Das Schleifen der Granitschale und Die Granitschale im Berliner Lustgarten. 1906 präsentierte Tschudi den bis dahin vergessenen Maler auf der legendären Jahrhundert-Ausstellung der Nationalgalerie. Die eigentliche Wiederentdeckung aber sollte sich ebendort in den 1920er Jahren ereignen. Als sich die Neue Sachlichkeit mit ihrer Rückbesinnung auf die Welt des Sichtbaren als eine führende Kunstrichtung etablierte, ehrte Ludwig Justi den Künstler 1924 an der Nationalgalerie mit einer „Gedächtnis-Ausstellung“.

Rund ein Jahrhundert nach der Wiederentdeckung Hummels durch Justi widmet die Alte Nationalgalerie, ausgehend vom eigenen Bestand, dem trotz seiner Bedeutung bis heute wenig wahrgenommenen und kaum publizierten Künstler eine längst fällige Ausstellung. Etwa 45 Gemälde und 50 Zeichnungen von Hummel werden gezeigt, sowie einige ausgewählte Werke der Neuen Sachlichkeit.

Besuch planen

AUSSTELLUNGSORT                                                                                     

Alte Nationalgalerie
Staatliche Museen zu Berlin
Museumsinsel Berlin
Bodestraße 1-3
10178 Berlin 

LAUFZEIT                                                  

22. Oktober 2021 – 20. Februar 2022

www.smb.museum/ang

EINTRITT

Regulär: 12 Euro
Ermäßigt: 6 Euro

Eintritt inkl. Sammlung

VERKEHRSVERBINDUNGEN

U-Bahn U5 (Museumsinsel)
U6 (Friedrichstraße)

S-Bahn S1, S2, S25, S 26 (Friedrichstraße);
S3, S5, S7, S9 (Hackescher Markt)
Tram M1, 12 (Am Kupfergraben);
Bus M4, M5, M6 (Hackeschen Markt)
Bus TX (Staatsoper); 100, 200 (Lustgarten)
147 (Friedrichstraße)

ÖFFNUNGSZEITEN

Montag
geschlossen
Dienstag
10 – 18 Uhr
Mittwoch
10 – 18 Uhr
Donnerstag
10 – 18 Uhr
Freitag
10 – 18 Uhr
Samstag
10 – 18 Uhr
Sonntag
10 – 18 Uhr

SONDERÖFFNUNGSZEITEN AN FEIERTAGEN
Heiligabend (Fr. 24.12.) geschlossen            
1. Weihnachtsfeiertag (Sa. 25.12.) 10 – 18 Uhr
2. Weihnachtsfeiertag (So. 26.12.) 10 – 18 Uhr
Silvester (Fr 31.12.2021): geschlossen
Neujahr (Sa 01.01.2022): 12 – 18 Uhr

Johann Erdmann Hummel, Im Park von Schloss Buch, 1836, Öl auf Leinwand, 44 x 55,5 cm, Nationalgalerie / Staatliche Museen zu Berlin.

Bildung und Vermittlung

Führungen

Buchbare Führungen für Gruppen

Besuchen Sie die Sonderausstellung im engen Familien- oder Freundeskreis. Eine Kunstvermittler*in begleitet Sie bei Ihrem individuellen Rundgang. Im persönlichen Gespräch erfahren Sie Details zu den ausgestellten Werken, zur Ausstellungskonzeption sowie zu historischen Hintergründen. Das Angebot ist individuell buchbar. Sichern Sie sich Ihren Wunschtermin!

 

Dauer: 60 Minuten

Deutsch: 90 € zzgl. Eintritt

Englisch: 100 € zzgl. Eintritt

Auf Anfrage sind weitere Fremdsprachen möglich

Max. 10 Personen

Erforderlich: negatives Testergebnis, vollständige Impfung oder Genesung

Information und Buchung:

service@smb.museum

Tel 030 266 42 42 42

Öffentliche Führungen für Einzelbesucher*innen

Optik – Perspektive – Konstruktion

Sa / 14 Uhr

Das Werk des Malers Johann Erdmann Hummel ist durch ein Interesse an optischen Phänomenen wie Spiegelungen und Schatten sowie Perspektive und Konstruktion gekennzeichnet. Im Ausstellungsgespräch erfahren Sie Details zu den ausgestellten Werken des Malers, der trotz seiner Bedeutung bis heute wenig wahrgenommen wird.

Teilnahmegebühr inklusive Eintritt: 15 €

Teilnahmegebühr mit gültigem Eintrittsticket (Jahreskarte, Förderverein, ICOM etc.): 10 €

Begrenzte Teilnehmerzahl

Online-Buchung erforderlich: www.smb.museum/veranstaltungen

Treffpunkt: Kasse / Information

Erforderlich: negatives Testergebnis, vollständige Impfung oder Genesung

Sonderveranstaltungen und Workshops

Kuratorenführung

Der besondere Blick: Magische Spiegelungen – Johann Erdmann Hummel

Fr / 16 Uhr / 19.11., 17.12.2021, 21.1.2022

Erstmals seit 1924 widmet die Alte Nationalgalerie dem Maler Johann Erdmann Hummel eine umfangreiche Ausstellung. Josephine Hein und Birgit Verwiebe berichten aus kuratorischer Perspektive über die Ausstellung. Stellen Sie Ihre Fragen und kommen Sie ins Gespräch.

Teilnahmegebühr inklusive Eintritt: 15 €

Teilnahmegebühr mit gültigem Eintrittsticket (Jahreskarte, Förderverein, ICOM etc.): 10 €

Begrenzte Teilnehmerzahl

Online-Buchung erforderlich: www.smb.museum/veranstaltungen

Treffpunkt: Kasse / Information

Erforderlich: negatives Testergebnis, vollständige Impfung oder Genesung

 

Eins zu Eins

So / 14 – 16 Uhr / 24.10., 31.10., 7.11., 14.11., 21.11., 28.11., 5.12., 12.12., 19.12., 26.12.2021

Kunstvermittler*innen laden Sie zu außergewöhnlichen Zwiegesprächen in die Sonderausstellung „Magische Spiegelungen – Johann Erdmann Hummel“ in der Alten Nationalgalerie ein. Die geltende Abstandsregelung wird hierbei zum Format. Halten Sie Ausschau! Sie finden Ihre Ansprechpartner*innen in den Ausstellungsräumen.

Teilnahmegebühr: Kostenfrei mit Eintrittsticket.

Begrenzte Teilnehmerzahl.

Bitte buchen Sie ein Online-Eintrittsticket für den Zeitpunkt der Veranstaltung.

Hinweise zu Corona

Corona-Schutz-Maßnahmen

Für den Besuch der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin gilt seit Montag, 15. November 2021, die 2G-Regel. Das bedeutet, dass der Zutritt in die Museen ausschließlich mit einem digital lesbaren Impf- oder Genesungszertifikat möglich ist. Bitte zeigen Sie Ihr digital lesbares Zertifikat zusammen mit einem gültigen Lichtbildausweis bei der Einlasskontrolle vor Ort vor.

Für Personen unter 18 Jahren gilt die 2G-Pflicht nicht, diese können auch negativ getestet sein. Das gilt auch für Personen, die aus medizinischen Gründen nicht geimpft werden können. Diese müssen mittels eines Tests negativ getestet sein und die Impfunfähigkeit mittels einer ärztlichen Bescheinigung nachweisen. Statt einem Testzertifikat reicht für Schüler*innen ein Schülerausweis aus Berlin oder Brandenburg. Kinder bis 6 Jahre unterliegen nicht der Testpflicht.

Besucher*innen ab 6 Jahren sind verpflichtet, in allen Innenräumen der Museen eine medizinische Gesichtsmaske oder FFP2- Gesichtsmaske zu tragen und den Mindestabstand von 1,5 Metern zu anderen Personen einzuhalten.

Die jeweils aktuellen Informationen unter: www.smb.museum/informationen-corona

Online-Tickets und Zeitfenstertickets

Der Besuch der Museen ist nur mit einem Zeitfensterticket möglich, das möglichst vorab online gebucht werden sollte: www.smb.museum/tickets

Restkarten können auch vor Ort an den Kassen erworben werden.

Tickets werden für jeweils 14 Tage im Voraus für den Vorverkauf freigegeben.

Kinder und Jugendliche bis 18 Jahre, Begleitpersonen von schwerbehinderten Menschen, Inhaber*innen von Jahreskarten, Presse-, ICOM- oder DMB-Ausweisen sowie Mitglieder von Freundeskreisen oder Fördervereinen der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin werden gebeten, online ein kostenloses Zeitfenster zu buchen und beim Einlass den entsprechenden Ausweis unaufgefordert vorzuzeigen.

Weitere Informationen

Information und Buchung

Staatliche Museen zu Berlin

Bildung, Vermittlung, Besucherdienste

Tel.: +49 30 266 42 42 42 (Mo – Fr 9 – 16 Uhr)

E-Mail: service@smb.museum

Bildung und Vermittlung bei den Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin

Das Referat Bildung, Vermittlung, Besucherdienste ist die zentrale Bildungseinrichtung der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin und als solche mit der Konzeption und Umsetzung von Angeboten in allen 15 Sammlungen betraut. Mit einem vielfältigen Veranstaltungsangebot richten sich die Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin an verschiedene Nutzergruppen: Kinder und Familien, Jugendliche und Erwachsene, Kindertageseinrichtungen, Schulen, Universitäten und andere Bildungseinrichtungen, Individualbesucher*innen und Besuchergruppen.

Das gesamte Bildungs- und Vermittlungsprogramm der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin finden Sie aktuell unter: www.smb.museum.

INFORMATION UND BUCHUNG

Staatliche Museen zu Berlin
Bildung, Vermittlung, Besucherdienste
Tel +49 (0) 30 266 42 42 42 (Mo-Fr, 9-16 Uhr)
service@smb.museum
www.smb.museum

Das vollständige Bildungs- und Vermittlungsangebot der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin finden Sie unter www.smb.museum

Katalog

Johann Erdmann Hummels Werk war in seiner Zeit einzigartig. Kein anderer Künstler hatte raffinierten Spiegelungen, perspek­tivischen Konstruktionen und magischen Beleuchtungen ein solches Interesse gewidmet wie er. Die kunstvollen, detail­reichen Komposi­tionen des Meisters beeindrucken durch zeichne­rische Klarheit. In ihrer übersteigerten Darstellung des Sichtbaren weisen sie auf die Moderne voraus, etwa die Neue Sachlichkeit. Der vorliegende Ausstellungs­katalog leistet einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Wieder­entdeckung des Malers, Zeichners und Erforschers optischer Phänomene (1769–1852). Das darin enthaltene Werk­verzeichnis seiner Gemälde bildet eine Grundlage für zukünftige Forschungen.

Magische Spiegelungen. Johann Erdmann Hummel
Herausgeber: Birgit Verwiebe; Nationalgalerie der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin
352 Seiten, 288 meist farbige Abb., 29,5 x 25 cm, Festeinband
Festeinband

Preis der Museumsausgabe: 29 Euro

BestellenBestellen

Alte Nationalgalerie

Die Alte Nationalgalerie ist das Stammhaus der Nationalgalerie, deren Sammlung sich heute außerdem auf die Häuser Neue Nationalgalerie, Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin, Friedrichswerdersche Kirche, Museum Berggruen und die Sammlung Scharf-Gerstenberg verteilt. Ihre Konzeption geht auf Friedrich Wilhelm IV. zurück.  Sie wurde am 22. März 1876, dem Geburtstag Kaiser Wilhelms I., als drittes Museum auf der Spreeinsel feierlich eröffnet.

Mehr InformationenMehr Informationen

Partner

Die Ausstellung Magische Spiegelungen. Johann Erdmann Hummel der Nationalgalerie, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, wird ermöglicht durch die Freunde der Nationalgalerie und unterstützt von der Ernst von Siemens Kunststiftung.

Mehr InformationenMehr Informationen

Johann Erdmann Hummel, Landschaft mit Regenbogen, 1841, Öl auf Leinwand, 72,5 x 80,4 cm, Angermuseum Erfurt. Foto: Dirk Urban